Utility Pioneers

Meet the members leading Pioneer Utility Resources

Pioneer Utility Resources is a communications co-op delivering innovative solutions to publicly-owned utilities since 1956.

We partner with 240 community-owned utilities and state associations in 34 states. Our consumer magazine brands reach more than 700,000 U.S. utility households, and our team of experienced communicators, web experts and designers offer industry content and support. To join our co-op, a utility must subscribe to at least one Pioneer service and accept our cooperative articles of incorporation, bylaws, policies and amendments. Co-op membership isn’t required to work with us, but it has great benefits.  Our name changed in 2019, but our vision remains clear: we were created to serve you.

In true cooperative fashion, our members lead us through our Board of Directors and Communications Committee.

Board of Directors

Our Board of Directors come from the membership. There are seven districts; eligible representatives include any member utility CEO/general manager or board member.

Scott Peters – Chairperson

CEO, Columbia REA, Washington, representing District 2, Alaska, Hawaii and Washington

John Bartley – Vice Chairperson

CEO, Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative, Florida, representing District 7, Eastern U.S. (all states east of the Mississippi River)

Lisa Johnson – Secretary/Treasurer

CEO and General Manager, Seminole Electric Cooperative, Inc., Florida, representing District 6, at large

Crystal Enkvist

Executive Director, Alaska Power Association, representing District 1, at large

Libby Calnon

CEO, Hood River Electric Cooperative, Oregon, representing District 4, Oregon and California

Dave Lock

CEO, Grand Canyon State Electric Cooperative, Arizona, representing District 3, at large

Robert Callison

Director, Clearwater Power, Idaho, representing District 5, Idaho and Nevada

  • Scott Peters – Chairperson
  • John Bartley – Vice Chairperson
  • Lisa Johnson – Secretary/Treasurer
  • Crystal Enkvist
  • Libby Calnon
  • Dave Lock
  • Robert Callison

Communications Committee

Magazine content and marketing support ideas are generated under the leadership of Pioneer Utility Resources' Communications Committee. Ten utility communicators meet twice a year to share ideas and identify communication needs. Want to volunteer on the committee? Let us know!

Beth Schroder – Chairwoman

Klickitat PUD, Washington

Thomas Elzinga – Vice Chairman

Consumers Power, Oregon

Corby Erwin

Plumas-Sierra Rural Electric Cooperative, California

Elissa Glassman

Northern Lights Electric Cooperative, Idaho

Garrett Hylton

Wells Rural Electric Cooperative, Nevada

Sarah Johnson

Clatskanie PUD, Oregon

Geoff Oldfather

Cooperative Communications & Public Relations Manager, Arizona G&T Cooperatives

Sharon Scheidt

Copper Valley Electric, Alaska

Mark Sellers

Peace River Electric Cooperative, Florida

Pam Spettel

Blachly-Lane Electric Co-op, Oregon

  • Beth Schroder – Chairwoman
  • Thomas Elzinga – Vice Chairman
  • Corby Erwin
  • Elissa Glassman
  • Garrett Hylton
  • Sarah Johnson
  • Geoff Oldfather
  • Sharon Scheidt
  • Mark Sellers
  • Pam Spettel