Crystal Enkvist, executive director of the Alaska Power Association, is the newest member of the Board of Directors for Pioneer Utility Resources.

Enkvist fills the unexpired term of the recently retired Meera Kohler, who represented Alaska and Hawaii on the board.

A 20-year industry leader with an extensive background in cooperative leadership and communications, Enkvist is no stranger to Pioneer.

Crystal Enkvist

“It’s been exciting to see the evolution of Pioneer from an electric cooperative magazine publisher to a full-service strategic communications firm supporting the work of the electric utility industry and benefiting consumers,” Enkvist said. “I look forward to serving this dynamic, organization and its member-owners in a governance capacity.”

As he welcomed Enkvist, Pioneer CEO Michael Shepard thanked Kohler for her time on the board and wished her well in retirement.

“Meera’s leadership and guidance are irreplaceable in my book, but I’m excited about the fantastic experience and ideas Crystal brings to our board,” Shepard said. “Over our more than 60 years of serving members, Pioneer has enjoyed the stability and growth that only prudent and thoughtful board leadership can facilitate.”

Meera Kohler

Before assuming her current role at APA in 2014, Enkvist was the association’s director of member and public relations for 14 years. She began her utility career as the public information officer at Anchorage Municipal Light & Power. She also currently serves as the executive vice president for ARECA Insurance Management.

With her deep industry knowledge, Enkvist is active on several boards and committees, including for the Renewable Energy Alaska Project, National Rural Utilities Cooperative Finance Corporation, the Alaska Center for Energy and Power Advisory Committee, and the Government Relations Advisory Committee for the American Public Power Association.

“We welcome Crystal, and I know our board welcomes the opportunities ahead for Pioneer,” Shepard said.

As a communication cooperative, Pioneer is governed by a board of directors just like the electric cooperatives it serves. Other board members include:

  • John Bartley, CEO, Gulf Coast Electric Cooperative, FL
  • Robert Callison, director, Clearwater Power, ID
  • Libby Calnon, CEO, Hood River Electric Cooperative, OR
  • Scott Peters, CEO, Columbia REA, WA
  • Lisa Johnson, CEO and general manager, Seminole Electric Cooperative, FL